vSphere 5.1 Error – Failed to attach filter ‘null’ to scsi0:0

You have to love some of the errors that vSphere has up its sleeve for you and this morning I came into see one of our critical file servers powered off. I tried to power it on and I got this lovely error message.

HBR Filter Error 1

A quick look on the VM summary page and I saw this message relating to replication, HBR was my imediate thought but I didnt think that we replicated this VM. So I had a look at all of the outbound replications and sure enough this VM was listed. These things dont just start replicating so I asked around…. I wont go into detail but the net result was that someone decided to take the initiative and replicate it and something went worng!

HBR Filter Error  6So we removed it from HBR and tried to power the VM back on back again this nasty message showed up. This VM only has one VMDk and that is the system drive on SCSI 0:0, the rest are RDM’s. So we tried to move the VMDK to another SCSI adapter and it still failed. We took that VMDK and added it to another VM and we could see and access the files.

This left one place to look and that was the VM, so I had a look in the VMX file and a quick search for HBR showed the following entries.

HBR Filter Error VMX File Entries

So I deleted the HBR lines and tried again. This time VM got a bit further and looked like it would power on but it didnt. In the interest of time I restored the VMX file, hoping that having one prior to HBR would get around the error, which it did. I wish I had a bit more time to fiddle but its pretty clear what the cause of the problem was.

Hope this helps someone else as I did not find anything that fitted my error from the Internet.

Leave a Reply

