Quick tips for running vCentre Operations on a monitoring station

We can’t be the only MIS department that has a few monitors that show dashboards and the like. I have been meaning to get the vCops dashboard on one of our screens for a while now.

At first this seemed pretty straight forward, open up Firefox, browse to http://vcops/vSphere login and bobs your uncle a quick view of the virtual infrastructures current state.

However, I noticed that the screen never changed and when you clicked on it after say 30 minutes I was returned to the logon screen. Not much help!!

So I set about rectifying these niggles and here is what I have done.

1. Connect to the UI appliance using a tool like WinSCP http://winscp.net/eng/index.php I prefer to do this as I can back the file up and I am more comfortable in Textpad than say VI or NANO.

2. To change the session time out value navigate to the following folder /usr/lib/vmware-vcops/tomcat/webapps/vcops-vsphere/WEB-INF/ Note I only have Advanced and I don’t have a custom UI, you need to set that separatlty here… /usr/lib/vmware-vcops/tomcat-enterprise/webapps/vcops-custom/WEB-INF/

3. Copy the web.xml file to your desktop and open it in your favourite editor. I just used TextPad. You will need to locate the following section and set a value of -1 to have it never time out. For example;

 <session-config>

     <session-timeout>-1</session-timeout>

</session-config>

4. Before you copy the file back I would rename the original one just so you have a backup. Then copy the updated file back in.

5. For good measure I restarted the tomcat web server by entering the following command in the vSphere console session on the UI VM. Service vcopsweb restart

6. Now onto the auto refreshing on the dashboard. These settings appear to be set for each page, so if you don’t want the dashboard you will have to locate the appropriate .JS file in the same folder I list below.

7. Again, using WinSCP (or VI) connect to the UI VM. Navigate to the following folder /usr/lib/vmware-vcops/tomcat/webapps/vcops-vsphere/pages

8. Locate the correct .JS file, in my case it was the Dashboard.js and copy that to your PC. Again open it in your favourite editor, I used TextPad.

9. I must admit this file was a bit more daunting so I have taken two screen shots so that you can clearly see where to add the line in. The line that you must add is <meta http-equiv=”refresh” content=”120″> this would refresh every two minutes for example.

vCops Refresh Pre change

The was post change, you will notice the new line near the top of the file.

vCops refresh post change

10. Head back to WinSCP and rename your dashboard file to back it up and then copy your modified file back into the appliance. I didn’t need to restart any services, I just refreshed my dashboard page and all started to work.

I hope this helps someone else out.

2 Responses to “Quick tips for running vCentre Operations on a monitoring station”

  1. One observation that I have had is that if you open the sub tables below health, risk or efficiency they seem to close after each auto refresh, which is a tad annoying. When I get five I will look at this and update if I fix it.

  2. Really, I think is a good idea to prepare a script to do it in all jsp files 🙂
    Hands on it

Leave a Reply

