My reservations on the Ouya console

This will be the final post in my mini series on the Ouya console, well final post before I get my hands on one. Then you can expect some first thoughts, un boxing ect.

I don’t have a great deal to say here as I am actually quite excited but here goes.

From what I have read a number of big gaming companies have signed up to produce games, such as Square Enix for example. At first I thought that’s good, we should see some quality games. However I thought one of the major goals of the console was to give the home dev or small companies a platform to get them noticed, but instead they may just end up drowning in a sea of big name franchises that offer silly spin-off games. I guess my point here is that we need a good balance šŸ™‚

I think part of me wants to relive that nostalgia that I have of my Amstrad CPC 64 days. Where I could go to the local paper shop, and with my Ā£1.50 pocket money I could buy a new game. Back then my local shop had a little stand full of cassette based games and I would base my choice on the cover art and the name alone. Sometimes you would wait 10 minutes for a game to load, crash or be utter garbage. Strange but it was fun and maybe these little home-grown games will offer up some fond memories!

In my opinion I think the console looks great, especially when you compare it to the GameStick, however with a low cost I just hope it doesn’t feel too cheap, especially the pad.

I know I stated that I am not a big mobile gamer, but I do hope that we see a lot of new IP and not just ports of other games. Whilst these easy wins help the console get established I am just say that new is the way to keep people coming back.

Anyway, I think that’s it. Less than two months to go so let’s see what happens.

3 Responses to “My reservations on the Ouya console”

  1. Your apprehension is valid. I also want to see new IP’s and I think that’s going to be the strength of the OUYA because developers will be open to experimentation. I have and OUYA and have been posting articles and video blogs about the hardware and games on my blog site. Check it out when you have the time.

Leave a Reply

