Bye bye Google Reader, it will cease July 1st 2013

Before I rant I know I am a bit behind with this announcement, but I still want to say something!

Once again Google sticks two fingers up to its users and cans another service, harsh words but it true. Sure there will be a bunch of “real” reasons but I am still to ponder why. As it was a great RSS reader that was clean and simple to use.

Like most IT folks will tell you, just keeping up with the rapid changes in our industry is almost a full time job, so once you find a way to help manage that flood of information, you tend to stick with it, like that comfy pair of shoes that you just can’t throw away!

I used Feedler to compliment my reader account and I have a feeling I will need to change that as well. I guess the reality of the situation is its time to move on and no amount of ranting will help, so I ask my self whats next? How can I save my rather large feed list as all my data is in the “cloud” and how quickly can I migrate.

First off getting my feed data is key and according to my quick nose about I can use Google Takeout to back up my feeds and import them to another source.

I also had a look at Feedly which seems to have picked up a lot of new users since this announcement. After installing it I found that it actually has an option to link to your Google Reader feed.

It also syncs the changes between GR and Feedly, and on top of that it also imports all of your feeds from Google, so that’s a neat alternative to Takeout. However I think I will still grab a takeout backup whilst I can. You just never know.

My first impressions of feedly are positive, it has a similar feel to flip board, a news feed app I mentioned I my I world post a while back. However I will miss that clean simple interface that Reader and my Feedler app delivered.

The option to group blogs is nice, so I can split my gaming and IT blogs up. There are a myriad of features and options to geek over but I have not done so yet.

In closing Feedler is worth checking out if you are looking for a new app to manage your feeds.

Leave a Reply

