Games on demand, why are they so expensive – Xbox 360

In November last year my launch console hard drive finally hit its limit as Halo 4 was going to require something like 4gb just for the DLC and I just didn’t have that kind of space. Personally I think I did well to survive that long with only 13GB of usable space.

As you may appreciate I was never bothered about games on demand and therefore never noticed the prices. With the release of Halo 4 I decided to get the limited edition console, which had a 320GB hard drive.

This prompted a massive spike in my downloads as all of a sudden I had space and I could drain the market place dry. That’s when I noticed these crazy prices. After playing the Xcom demo I decided I couldn’t wait to get, so I thought I would give games on demand a go. To my surprise it was on there, but it cost a whopping £49.99. Are you serious M$!!

Let’s think about this for a second.. I get the game there and then and I don’t have to leave the sofa. However I don’t get a manual, a game box, nor can I lend it to a friend. So why pay through the nose just to get the game instantly. In my eyes at least, that just seems crazy. There are some other merits such as you don’t have to physically store all your games, but again, this just doesn’t warrant uber high prices, which in most cases are considerably higher than the shops, in the UK.

I also think that Microsoft are missing a trick, as since they did the mega sale a few months ago I have actually brought a few games that I was never too fussed about owning, but when they are costing £8.99 for example I am thinking “What the hell, let’s go for it.”

So now I find myself watching the sales and specials and picking up the odd game. I think I have 4 or 5 on demand titles now. However I will only buy the bargains!

Do you agree with me, in that Games on demand should be cheaper than the shops? Why not cast vote in my poll below.

Thanks for reading.

 

2 Responses to “Games on demand, why are they so expensive – Xbox 360”

  1. I have about 30 or 40 on demand games, only buy them when they are 15.99. So many more i want, but can’t afford them.

Leave a Reply

