My thoughts on building a personal online brand

I have been thinking about this quite a bit of late, the main reason being that I have started to blog more and this has expanded my horizons, so to speak.

This blog started as a way for me to combat my bad memory. I always write down technical fixes and I end up forgetting them or losing the bit of paper, so I started this blog to help me record technical resolutions to problems. The issue I then faced was finding the time to write-up all this information, so you guessed it not a lot of posts happened.

I started to find that I was thinking about blogs on topics other than my technical fixes and it was these thoughts that actually motivated me to write more. I then started to blog more on my favourite hobby, playing Video Games. To start with blogging on both subjects in my mind caused no issues, however as I have alluded to in the title I am coming to the rapid conclusion that all my blogging is actually helping me to build my own brand and stick it out there for all to see. Which also scares me a little bit….!

Currently my brand is a little bit messed up, clearly I have two passions and one of them fits nicely into my blog name and twitter handle, the other does not. To me this sends a mixed message, is this a problem? Maybe not as these things are what make me… Well…Me. And isn’t my brand 100% me!?

So do I split them out or stay as I am. I am thinking that I should split them out.

So where next with my online brand and why do I want to build one?

Having a brand is all about promotion and I am hoping that these posts help promote me and push my career forward. If I can then use this shameless promoting to meet new people, get different thoughts and views from others and create opportunities that I may never have had then I will be a happy guy. Also it’s my chance to try to give something back to the community as I use other people’s blogs to help me, so I hope I can do the same for someone else.

I have a few next steps in mind, beyond blogging more, I am thinking that branching out into YouTube could be one avenue to interact with the wider community, also using other social media to promote my thoughts seems like a good step. I also want to start a blog post series that will be something a bit different.

I am still working on getting my new home for the Enemy Zero clan up and running which I am hoping will give me other avenues to explore. In fact I have to get a post going on that to update what is going on as there is a new site nearing it’s launch and I will publish my future gaming posts on there, but for now they will remain on this blog.

No matter what I will continue to blog as even though putting a post together takes some time, it’s good fun and in some cases it forces me to get my thoughts down or clarify my understanding of a topic or issue.

Leave a Reply

